Activities in Dominica - National Parks : Discover Dominica, the Nature Island


National Parks

National Parks

Dominica is home to three National Parks:

Morne Trois Pitons National Park was established as a national park  in July 1975 and named a World Heritage Site in 1997. The Park is named after its highest mountain, Morne Trois Pitons, meaning mountain of three peaks. The park is a significant area of volcanic activity and  covers 17,000 acres which includes the Valley of Desolation, a region of boiling mud ponds and small geysers, the Boiling Lake, Titou Gorge, and Emerald Pool.

Cabrits National Park is located on a peninsula on the north end of the island just beyond the town of Portsmouth. Established in 1986, Cabrits National Park occupies 1,313 acres and protects tropical forests, coral reefs and wetlands. When you’re there, make sure to visit the English garrison called Fort Shirley.

Morne Diablotin National Park is a national park in the northern mountain ranges of the island. The park covers 8,242 acres, and was established in 2000, primarily to protect the habitat of the endangered Sisserou Parrot, the national symbol of Dominica. The park is home to 4,747 foot high Morne Diablotin, the tallest mountain on the island and the second highest mountain in the Lesser Antilles.